Look Who’s Cookin!

Oh muse, why have you deserted me? I guess nothing too exciting has happened in my life lately, it’s a shame. I am back in Boise for now, although I’m heading up to a massive 4th of July party in Crouch, Idaho tomorrow which I’m sure will be nothing short of exciting. I mean, there is a bar there called the Dirty Shame Saloon…how can you go wrong?! My parent’s recently bought a cabin up there, and the neighborhood is having a massive bbq. The main dish is sorted but everyone has to bring a side dish or drinks, so I have made an awesome 3 bean salad for it! I also made some lovely potatoes and asparagus for dinner tonight. YUM! Anyway (before I get too side tracked), I got the 3 bean salad recipe/idea from my wonderful host mother, Sally, while I was frolicking about (and not painting like I thought I would be) in Forest Grove. I am in love with this recipe, and it is one of the easiest things to make! It would be hard to get sick of this versatile salad. Without further ado, I give you………….bean salad.

What you will need:

3-4 cans of beans. Any kind of beans will do!

1/3 C vinegar (your pick)

1/3 C sugar

1/4 C oil (your pick again)

About 1 red or sweet onion (finely chopped)

Celery (optional, this is only to bulk it up a little)

Seasonings to taste (salt, pepper, rosemary, parsley, etc)

Find yourself a big bowl to mix all of this in and start with the beans. Make sure they are drained and washed first. This is important, if you don’t do this you will have way too much bean juice and that’s just gross. In my most recent concoction, I’ve used kidney beans, garbanzo beans, pinto beans and black beans. Next take your finely chopped onion (since I only had half of a red onion, I used half red and half sweet) and chuck it in the bowl. Add celery if you so wish, and toss on your oil, sugar and vinegar. I used rice wine vinegar and olive oil with a splash of peanut oil. Sally used peanut oil and balsamic vinegar in hers and it was WONDERFUL. The peanut oil makes it a bit sweeter I think. Seriously, there are so many combinations to use and I haven’t had a bad batch yet, so get creative! Finish it all off by adding your seasonings. I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, parsley and rosemary in mine. Put whatever you feel like putting in it and chances are it will probably come out good. Now, you’re supposed to let it sit overnight so all the flavors can blend together, but even just a couple of hours will do just fine.

You could even get festive! Embrace the American 4th of July spirit and use red kidney beans, butter beans, and black beans (they were the closest I could come up with to blue. If you somehow find a blue bean, nice work! And let me know, I wanna see it). Make your salad match the flag.

I didn’t take this picture, but my bean salad looks quite similar. Just so you know what it’s gonna end up looking like (if you were at all curious)

The best part about this salad? Beans are good for you! So this salad is good for you too! …mostly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

