Humdrum Days

“My absolute favourite piece of information is the fact that young sloths are so inept that they frequently grab their own arms and legs instead of tree limbs, and fall out of trees.” -Douglas Adams

Perhaps reincarnation is real..being a sloth in my past life would explain the clumsiness I’ve been suffering from lately. I’m not the most graceful of people; most of the time I feel like a giraffe on roller skates with it’s legs tied together. Falling over is nothing new. Recently, however, I have sustained far more injuries from my uncoordinated tumbles than usual.

About two weeks ago Maia and I were at a friend’s house and I turned around at one point only to discover, much to my dismay, that I was leaving a trail of bloody footprints through the kitchen. Come to find out, my heel has been slashed open and I have absolutely no idea how this happened. Maia went into panic mode, wanted to take me in to get stitches but I refused, so instead created band-aid mountain. In hindsight I maybe should have gotten stitches seeing as it’s still not healed and possibly getting infected.

And then last week I was climbing down some sandy rocks in wet jandals (smart, I know) and, surprise surprise, lost my footing which resuted in both a scraped up bum and a jammed, cut up toe with sand in it. That one reallllly hurt.

I blame the construction for my lack of coordination (and sleep). It’s horrible. Day in and day out it’s just work work work. I don’t know what the heck they are drilling into our street but it SHOOK our entire house a few days back. I get home from work at 4am, construction starts at 530. I’m beginning to understand insanity.

I guess that’s what I get for living in the center of a broken city on the rise.

In other news, there is no news. I have just been working and doing my thing. Fall is on its way; I can feel it in the crispness of the wind and the leaves are starting to change color. This makes me quite happy, I love each season but I do believe Autumn might be my favorite.:) I’m planning a visit down to Queenstown and then a week-long trip up to the North Island, so adventures to look forward to!! Until then…I’m trying my best to sleep and not lose my mind or temper with all this construction business.

Leave a Reply

