Turning the Page

Well well, it has been a while hasn’t it?

Since my last post I have been busy gallivanting about on some last-minute adventures before shooting off to explore new lands.

That’s right, I am leaving New Zealand. (… 😦  )

At this point in time, I don’t necessarily WANT to leave this wonderful country. I don’t even want to leave Christchurch, I have become quite attached to the place and I have grown to love the people I’ve met. It is going to be a rough goodbye. But I have a feeling it isn’t going to be a permanent goodbye.

While thinking of leaving this country and all the wonderful people I have integrated into my life in 12 DAYS makes me just a little bit depressed, I am comforted by the fact that I will soon my soaking up the sun in Tahiti and farming for black pearls with my long lost Little Raptor and best bud Erin!! That’s right, I am reuniting with Erin yet again for a 3 week Tahitian exploration. I am meeting Erin and her sister in Papeete and together we will fly out to Ahe before taking a 40 minute speedboat ride out to a small atoll in an endeavor to farm black pearls. We will be wwoofing with Kamoka Pearls, and from what I’ve read up about them, they sound pretty wicked. To be perfectly honest I kind of have no idea what exactly we will be doing, but I do know we start at 630am. Ouch. Despite the fact that I will probably smell like an oyster and look like some washed up seaweed, I’m pretty excited about this! If it’s awful, it’s only 3 weeks. And if it’s awesome, then I have the opportunity to spend 3 weeks in paradise!! Can’t complain about that 🙂

After Tahiti I am flying out to Bangkok! And that is where my story is currently stalled. I have no idea what I’m going to do or where I’m going to go upon arrival at this point in time, but I am looking forward to finally spending a few months touring Southeast Asia. I have sacrificed many a party night in order to save enough money for this and dang it I am going to make it count! I want to ride elephants and play with tigers and all that fun  stuff.

For now…I am off to work. I will try my best to keep you all updated and entertained. Maybe something awesome will go down in the bar tonight. Monday, sooo, probably not. But we can dream big.

In the meantime, if any of you have helpful tips or hints for anywhere in SE Asia (like…where to stay, which beaches to check out, what hidden gems of the jungle to seek out, or any other cheap awesomeness) I would LOVE to hear it! Seriously. Give this girl some guidance!

Leave a Reply

