Life in the Cameron Highlands

I have camped myself in the Cameron Highlands for the past couple of days after an unexpected free ride out here and, surprisingly, I am enjoying myself quite a lot! I think I may stay here for at least a week. (I know, a whole week!) As I said, I didn’t think I would enjoy the Cameron Highlands all that much. There are a couple of reasons for this; not only was I told it wasn’t that great by a couple of locals, it’s a bit out of the way to get to and from and is also a tourist hot spot. However, despite traveling down south away from the highlands I have allowed myself to willingly be carted back up north into this areaDSCN1732 anyway.

I’m glad I did end up here, because it’s got the laid back feel of Cherating (minus the beach and add a few more people) and it also has cheap accommodation! There are heaps of hikes you can do on your own and plenty of ways to spend your days. I personally have been busy enjoying the markets a little too much and stuffing my face with food while at the same time moaning over my growing Indian food belly, so the other day it was off to the tea plantations with some new friends for a little bit of exercise! We began the 16km walk to the BOH tea plantation and threw out the thumb to hitch a ride after about 5 minutes. The first vehicle to breeze past was a police car and, not knowing if hitching is actually legal or not in Malaysia, I quickly flipped my thumb into a thumbs up sign (as if he wouldn’t know…). The next car I tried to flag down was a taxi, and he just laughed at me. Clearly it’s been a while since I’ve done any hitch hiking. However, it didn’t take long before the four of us were jumping into the bed of a truck and on our way. Along the way we stopped at a smaller tea plantation, a developing chrysanthemum nursery, and a bee farm. Apparently anything tea related is closed on Mondays, so after all our efforts getting there the BOH tea factory and café were both closed. There was a viewpoint we could hike to which boasted some lovely sights and tea for miles, so I was satisfied with the day.

I think I like the Cameron Highlands.

Cameron Highlands

2 thoughts on “Life in the Cameron Highlands

Leave a Reply

