Dont Cry Over Spilled Milk

Unless of course that milk happens to now be neon green and spreading rapidly across your floor. I’m rue to admit that happened last week when I discovered a small bottle of what was once milk in my fridge that had been tucked away and fermenting splendidly for I’m not even sure how long. I am pretty sure whatever it was oozing out of that bottle after accidentally knocking it over has never come from a cow.

This is why I shouldn’t live alone.
I cant even blame anyone else. Ugh.

Anyway…I cant even remember the reason for this post, I got too distracted by the memory of the above mentioned incident, but I think it had something to do with New Years resolutions. I think one of my resolutions was to blog more frequently and, well, look how that’s turned out; its already the 21st of January and I am only now sending out my first post of the new year. Faaaaiiillllllll.

On the bright side, one of my other loosely decided upon resolutions was to learn to let more things slide. It’s not that I’m uptight, it’s just that I don’t understand how yelling “farang farang!” and then laughing and talking about me as I walk by is considered ok in this culture. If a Thai person went to America and walked down the road alone I can guarantee you a group of Americans would not yell, “Asian! Asian!” and then laugh and talk about them while assuming they can’t understand English. Because that’s fucking rude.

Ok see I’m already failing at my “resolution”. Various pitfalls in my attempts at understanding cultural differences in the Land of Smiles aside, these differences and the obvious language barrier have proven to be very humorous. Today I asked one of my students why he was late and he told me, “I…bigfoot” when really he meant to say breakfast. Just last week I was having a very basic English conversation with a shop owner and when I told him he could speak English well, he laughed and replied with, “No! Snake fish fish!” I have absolutely no idea what that means.

I guess the whole point of this post is clearly to prove to myself that I don’t even have my life together enough to make New Years Resolutions. And I am strangely ok with that. Or, maybe, it’s so together that I don’t even need any resolutions! Yeah…that must be it…

*I had stopped halfway through this post and have just returned to it, and the snake fish fish comment has been explained to me. “Nguu nguu blah blah “, literally translated from Thai to English, means “snake snake fish fish”. It is also a Thai slang term to mean the same thing as very little, so when I told him he could speak well he was telling me he could only speak English a little bit. Obviously Thai slang doesn’t translate well into English haha. Learn something new every day.

**More exciting Cambodia trip post to come**

Leave a Reply

