Lemon Facial Scrub: WIN

I see all of these “nailed it” attempts and/or mockeries of pinterest posts and curiosity has led me to test a few of my own pins. Since I don’t exactly have a kitchen or my own home to freely create in, my options are somewhat limited, but I’ve started this project with a simple DIY facial scrub.

I found tha pin that links back to this site with the recipe, but I’ll just fill you in now to make it easy.
Ingredients:
1 Tbsp honey
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp sugar

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I have lemon juice but I decided to squeeze a real lemon, not sure if that will make a difference or not, especially since I am using cheap honey. Girls on a budget, ya know?

Simply mix all the ingredients together in a bowl and you have your scrub. Rinse your face with warm water to open the pores and  apply the scrub evenly onto your face and neck, gently rubbing it in for about a minute. In theory the sugar acts as an exfoliate while the lemon brightens and clears, and the honey and oil smooth your skin. Rinse with cold water and pat dry with a towel. Apply moisturizer and voila! You are finished.

I don’t have any moisturizer so hopefully my skin will not look like the Arizona desert tomorrow. However I do live in Thailand and I don’t think my face has ever once felt too dry. I don’t even remember what dry skin feels like, so possibly foregoing the moisturizer will be beneficial for my skin and make it feel less oily. At the moment it actually feels quite nice!

Since this is a work in progress and I will see how my face looks and feels tomorrow,  I am so far giving this pin a tentative win. To be completely honest I share my room with ants (the little monsters never seem to go away); I haven’t had any problems with them yet but with all that sugar and honey in this scrub I am absolutely terrified I will wake up with ants crawling all over my face. (Oh my gosh can you imagine?! I would totally lose it…*ugghhhh*)

So…final judgement TBD, but so far the first test went well!

Oh PS lemon juice can make your skin more sensitive to the sun so wear that sunscreen! (I’m telling all of you this in an attempt to remind myself). Also, this scrub is rumored to work wonders with acne, acne scars, uneven skin tone, and sun spots. Score!

UPDATE: I did not wake up with ants all over my face (thank the Lord) and my face does in fact feel nice. Neither oily nor dry; it’s perfect. Only time will reveal the long term benefits, but I’m going to give this scrub the all clear and call it a WIN! 🙂

Leave a Reply

