Kids Say the Darndest Things

The other day I was giving some of my students a speaking test for adverbs of frequency. As a joke I asked them if they ever picked their nose. The results were somewhat unexpected; as a ten year old girl I would have told my teacher “No! I never pick my nose!” Instead the responses I got from these five girls were surprisingly honest:
“……always!” (after peals of laughter from me) “Teacherrrr……in my room! Nobody sees! ….Teacher!!”
“….I usually pick my nose…”
“*giggles*…sometimes.”
“yes?”
“Oh…always.” (no shame here haha)

One of my favorite kinds of assignments are the ones where my students have to/get to draw. It makes the assignment more entertaining for them and grading more entertaining for me! I just did a preposition practice assignment (draw a buffalo next to the tree. Draw yourself on the buffalo. etc etc) The results were everything I had hoped for.                                                                          Angry birds….20150827_133632
20150826_091045….and an angry koala buffalo?

And this buffalo and snake are equally unsure about each other.

20150826_091656

I know some child psychology theories focus on the idea that a child’s behavior, development, perception of things, family life, ect can be elicited from drawings that they do. After doing assignments like this for two years and teaching these kids I would love to learn more about that  because some of these kiddos….well their drawings are very expressive and creative.

A more recent assignment I did was to have them draw their family. I drew mine on the board and labeled the members of my family and asked them to do the same for their family. Most kids understood that, but a couple of them decided instead to draw their own creative interpretations of my family:

20150910_100401To be honest I think my mom probably suffers most in both of these drawings….sorry Mom 😛

Are you ready for this one? This one had my co-workers in fits when they saw it….
20150910_095403“My” face…

20150910_095723

Leave a Reply

